You are currently viewing Types of Domain Name | 5 Different Types of Domain Full Explained

Types of Domain Name | 5 Different Types of Domain Full Explained

Types of Domain Name :- Friends, in today’s article, I will tell you the types of domains because you have often seen .com .in .net and etc. domains

But very few people know that there are also different types of domain ,

So today I will explain in detail the types of domain name.

What are the different types of domain name?

As you all know what domain names are, if you don’t know then you can read our previous post.

So friends, today let’s learn about the types of domain name that are available for your domain registration.

When most people think of building a website, they usually think of .com domain.

People’s usually think that only .Com domain is a good and best domain.

Although it is the most common domain extension, there are many different types of extensions and categories available for registration on the Internet.

In fact, five different types of domains categories are available for all of you to register.

1. Top-Level Domain (TLDs)

The top level domains, in general, are at the top of the Internet hierarchy of domain names.

You commonly refer to them as TLDs (Top Level Domains).

Today there are more than thousands of different TLDs available in the internet world.

In recent years, ICANN has opened new TLD registrations and approvals, so that more companies and individuals can register unique TLDs.

This has increased the available number of TLDs even more.

In the simple Words, top level domains are at the highest level in the Internet’s DNS structure.

In 1985, IANA ( Internet Assigned Numbers Authority) release six top-level domain names.

These six types of domain name extension are :- .

com, .net, .org, .edu, .mil, .gov

These TLDs are known as domain name extensions and today represent the highest level in the domain name system hierarchy.

2. Generic Top-Level Domain (GTLDs)

Generic top-level domains function as a category of top-level domains within DNS.

Currently, there are 21 top-level generic domains within the root zone,

Which is the highest level of domain name system structure.

Let’s look at an example. Military organizations may use the .mil extension,

While educational institutions may use .edu, and also .org, for use by nonprofit organizations.

While more than 1,500 GTLDs are currently in use,

but 21 make up the vast majority of all domain names.

They include four sub-categories:

Generic (.com, .net, .org, .info), domains that can be used for general purposes Anyone can use them .

Generic restricted (.pro, .biz, .name) domains that can only be used for their specific purposes.

Sponsored (.edu, .gov, .int, .mil, .aero, .cat, .asia, .mobi, .coop, .travel, .tel, .jobs) Domains that can only be used by businesses involved with that industry.

For example Military organizations may use the .mil extension.

Infrastructure (.arpa) which was one of the original top-level domains used to help with DNS infrastructure.

3. Country code Top Level Domains (ccTLD)

To distinguish one country from another, two letter domains were established and they were linked to countries or geographical locations;

for example .in represents India and .uk represents England. All these are also top level domains but only within a particular country.

Typically residents of only one country can register their respective ccTLDs;

But over the years some countries have allowed parties outside their shores to register website names. An example of this is Tuvalu (.tv).

These domain extensions can be useful if you are building a website in a specific country or opening a company in a specific country,

and you want to indicate to your visitors that they have come to the right place.

Related Topic :- Web Hosting Vs Domain | What is the difference and Definition

4. Second Level Domain

Within the Domain name system (DNS)  hierarchy, second level domains are domains that follow top level domains.

Often, second level domains are the name of the business or vendor who has registered the domain name with the registrar.

The brand name, company name, or project name is the identifier for potential customers.

Second level domains are below Top level domain in terms of hierarchy.

This does not mean that they are less official, or valuable.

Country codes are also second-level domains, which may look like the following: :- Government agencies across India use it. :- Companies in the United Kingdom commonly use this type domain extension. :- These type extension commonly used by government agencies throughout the United Kingdom.

5. Third level domain

The third level domains in the domain name hierarchy are below the second level domains.

They do not in themselves have a full domain name, they are only a part of the domain name.

Within the Domain Name System (DNS)  hierarchy, third level domains follow second-level domains.

The third level domain is often referred to as a sub-domain.

Larger companies often use third-level domains as identifiers that can differentiate between different departments.

For example, in the “” domain name, ‘tech’ would be the third level domain.

In the simple words if you are using a subdomain to create an additional section of your site, it will also be a third level domain.

The only real reason to use a third level domain would be when you are adding a subdomain to your existing domain.

Sub-domains can be used for various purposes for example :- Creating an online store and adding a blogs any service etc..

So friends, in today’s article I explained you types of domain name

And if you want to buy domain and hosting, then you can see the deals and promos of TechBuddies from here.

Leave a Reply